Delhi stands in a triangle formed by the Yamuna river in the east and spurs from the Aravalli range in the west and south. It is surrounded by Haryana on all sides except east where it borders with Uttar Pradesh, Delhi has a semi-arid climate with high variation between summer and winter temperature.

Delhi is the traditional and present day Capital of India. It is one of the oldest continually inhabited cities of India. This city is believed to be the site of ‘Indraprastha’, the capital of Pandavas in the ‘Mahabharata’. Delhi has been ruled by many dynasties. It came under British Rule after 1857. On 15th Aug 1947, it was officially declared as the capital of India republic. It is centre stage of all apolitical activities. It also contributes significantly to Indian economy. Delhi has a lot of tourists’ places.

The Parliament House in new Delhiimga2.jpg is a massive circular edifice measuring about 170.69 meters (560 feet) in diameter and 536.33 meters (one-third a mile) in circumference. The magnificent building stands unique among the new buildings built later. The continuous open verandah on the first floor, fringed with a colonnade of 144 creamy sandstone columns, each standing 8.23 meters (27 feet high), lends an unparalleled grandeur to the building. While India's new capital was designed by Sir Edward Lutyens, the Parliament House was designed by Sir Hervert Baker.

The original plan for New Delhi, prepared in 1911, had not provided for a Legislature building. A decision to build a legislature building was taken after the First World War and after the introduction of Montague-Chelmsford reforms. The design for the structure was approved in 1919, and the foundation stone was laid on February 12, 1921 by the Duke of Connaught.